• Hi, darlin’

    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    I'm a nice southern girl born and raised in southeastern Alabama. I moved to Maryland fall 2010 with the husband and our 19 month old son. Currently a SAHM until my dream job comes along, whatever that may be. I love to cook, write recipes, read, scrapbook, and clip coupons. I live such a wild life.
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Grab My Button!

    Heels & Pearls

My biggest fear in life.

It’s not driving off a bridge into a body of water (which is pretty damn scary).

It’s not heights.

It’s not losing a loved one.

It’s something being “wrong” with Dillon.

From the beginning of my pregnancy, this new fear has planted itself deep within my heart. Thankfully, we’ve been blessed with a healthy baby. Unfortunately, when your child is born, the fear of something happening is greater.

In my eyes, Dillon is a very intelligent child. As an infant, he reached most milestones early (rolling over, holding head up). When he started solid foods, he took it like a champ. When we took him off of the bottle? He took it like a champ. We just quit using them one day. He started walking right before turning 13 months and his first word was “dada” around 11 months.

Since beginning to talk, Dillon has built quite the little vocabulary. Everything was “this” and he’d point to it when he wanted something. All drinks were “juice”. I am “mama” and Kyle is “dada”. The “dog” is “Major (or jer)” and they like to play “ball”.

He was a jabber box up until a few weeks ago. Now? He’s stopped talking.

And, it’s freaking me out pretty badly.

He does still say “mama” clear as a bell. He will say “dada” when he wants. The rest? History.

It’s finally dawned on me within the past several days that he’s only jabbering now. We’re in between pediatricians and not sure of what we’re going through is normal, I started asking other moms. I got varying answers but, another mom friend of mine says her son is going through something similar and it started with him when he started getting his 4 molars. Well, Dillon’s 4 molars are in the process of coming in, too. So, maybe there is a link?

Dillon knows how to snap buckles, including his carseat chest clip (which drives me insane). He tries to put on his shoes. He can feed himself with a fork and points to things he wants. I know in my heart he’s a very bright baby but, I just don’t know why he’s stopped talking. I’m sick to my stomach thinking about it.

We see our new pediatrician next month and this is the first thing I am going to address with her. In the meantime, I will continue working with Dillon and pray for the best. My goal in life is for Dillon to grow up to be a successful, intelligent person. And, if something is wrong with him – something that I could have prevented, I don’t know what I will do with myself.

Does anyone have an input? Has anyone gone through a similar situation?

2 Responses

  1. Maybe it could be the stress of the move. He is a new environment and things are just different to him. Even though they are young I think they can still experience stress. Not to the extreme that we do obviously but I think they can just “feel” stressful situations. I would be worrying up a storm too but try not to! At least yall have an appointment with his new doctor soon! I’m sure everything is fine!! = )

  2. Is he currently learning something new? Sometimes when babies and toddlers learn something new they stop doing things that they were doing before.

    I also agree with Heather. It could be the stress from the move and a new environment.

    I’m sure everything with Dillon is perfectly fine!

Leave a comment