• Hi, darlin’

    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    I'm a nice southern girl born and raised in southeastern Alabama. I moved to Maryland fall 2010 with the husband and our 19 month old son. Currently a SAHM until my dream job comes along, whatever that may be. I love to cook, write recipes, read, scrapbook, and clip coupons. I live such a wild life.
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Grab My Button!

    Heels & Pearls

Is there a song about Maryland?

It’s been roughly 3 months since moving to Maryland.  Here is what I have accomplished so far:

  • I can successfully use the metro in DC without panicking over which train to use
  • I am a much better driver on the interstate
  • I know my way around better than I would have ever expected
  • I don’t get panicky and sweaty while driving in downtown traffic

Doesn’t look like much but, I feel like I have come a long way in such a short amount of time. Thankfully, God blessed me with a pretty good internal GPS system and getting around is much easier. I am slowly handling the traffic better and have stopped hitting my steering wheel when I get cut off.

I have to say, I am more homesick than ever. And, all of this cold weather certainly doesn’t help. For my birthday, I received a plane ticket from Kyle to fly home for a week. Well, that week turned into 2 weeks. I didn’t realize how much I missed home until I got there. I missed the familiar faces of my family and the warm hugs of my girlfriends. I missed the southern charm of people and the certain twang that can only be found in country music..and sweet tea. I drank lots of sweet tea.

I think adjusting to life in Maryland would be easier if I had something for myself – a job, a social life, girlfriends…something. I feel like everything is falling apart and I just can’t get life back on track. I keep job hunting and nothing promising turns up and I just don’t understand.

I am trying to make mom friends, though. I’m actually hosting a play group at my house in a few weeks.

I try so hard to remain positive and look for the good in things. I usually find myself more disappointed than anything but, it’s something that I am really trying to work on as a person. At the end of the day, it doesn’t feel like it’s enough.

But, you know what?

When I am driving around in awful traffic and Lynard Skynard comes on, I smile and laugh at myself..somehow I know that one day, everything will be okay.

Leave a Reply

